About Us

Pennsylvania’s Transportation History Comes Alive at the Boyertown Museum of Historic Vehicles


Boyertown Museum of Historic VehiclesDiscover Pennsylvania’s Transportation History at the Boyertown Museum of Historic Vehicles! See vehicles of all types: gasoline, electric, and horse-drawn, including carriages, wagons, and sleighs. You will see ‘high wheelers” and “safety bicycles,” vehicle builder’s tools, and local historic roadside architecture.


The museum is housed in the former home of the Boyertown Auto Body Works, which had continuous operations on this site from 1872 – 1990, and retains the factory setting, making it a unique and interesting setting for the vehicles.


The Museum gift shop features unique items for all the family. A large selection of museum items and vehicle-related books are available.

Mission Statement:

To operate as a museum of road transportation, vehicles, artifacts, roadside culture, alternative propulsion, and vehicle builders focused on Pennsylvania and the Greater Delaware Valley; as well as the historic vehicles built by Jeremiah Sweinhart’s Carriage Factory 1872-1914 and by Paul Hafer’s Boyertown Auto Body Works 1914-1990 in the historic Industrial Age factory buildings which now house the collection.

Boyertown Museum Founders |Boyertown PA

The Boyertown Museum of Historic Vehicles was established in 1965 by Paul and Erminie Hafer.  Paul Hafer had a 57-year career of designing and building truck bodies at the Boyertown Auto Body Works, which was co-founded by his father B. Frank Hafer.  He served for 21 years as Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Boyertown Museum of Historic Vehicles. 

Erminie Hafer’s book, A Century of Vehicle Craftsmanship, is a thorough history on the transportation industry in Southeastern Pennsylvania.

Boyertown Auto Museum |Vehicle Craftsmanship Book|Boyertown PA

A Successful 50th Anniversary for the Boyertown Museum of Historic Vehicles


The Boyertown Museum of Historic Vehicles had a great 50th Anniversary Celebration that kicked off with a Golden Gala in January and kept going all year long.  The number of visitors who came through the door, both to tour the Museum on regular days and to attend special events, was just astounding.  Visitors representing over 40 states and 14 countries saw our Museum in 2015–many for the first time!  We also had an increase in memberships, both in number of members and in members upping their level of giving!  Our restored 1872 Jeremiah Sweinhart Carriage Factory opened in September 2015 and has been a popular draw ever since, especially when blacksmithing demonstrations are going on at the working brick forge.  We also saw success with some new events this year.  Our first ever Food Truck Fair, The Truck Stops Here, drew in over 1500 people, and was such a popular event that we’ve decided to hold our second annual The Truck Stops Here in 2016.  Our two Diner Day events combined brought over 800 people through the doors.  And speaking of events…our 50th Annual Duryea Day broke last year’s record with over 700 show vehicles filling Boyertown Community Park.


We want to thank everyone who helped us celebrate our 50th Anniversary in 2015–from all the visitors who came through the doors, both repeat and new, to all the volunteers who helped us countless times throughout the year, to all who helped ‘get the word out’ about this wonderful gem of a museum.  We hope the next 50 years will be just as memorable as the first!

Board of Directors:

  • Bernard M. Hofmann, Board President
  • Philip Fleck, Board Vice President, Collections Committee Chairman
  • John McCarthy, Treasurer, Finance Committee Chairman
  • James Strecker, Secretary
  • Robert H. Dare, Executive Committee Chairman
  • Jim Swope, Education, Exhibits, and Events Committee Chairman
  • Frank I. Kaplan, Marketing & Development Committee Chairman
  • J. Wilmer “Wil” Hallman, Facilities Committee Chairman
  • Pierre “Pete” deMauriac, Board Member 
  • Marianne Deery, Board Member
  • William “Bill” Engle, Board Member
  • Jerry Keefer, Board Member
  • Thomas D. Leidy, Esq., Board Member
  • Barbara Mizdail, Board Member
  • Donald J. Neilson, Board Member
  • Dan Olsen, Board Member
  • Gary Rhoads, Board Member
  • Saul S. Rivkin, Board Member
  • Fred Serfass, Board Member
  • Gary T. Smullin, Board Member
  • Douglas J. Strange, Board Member
  • Harry J. Tucci, Board Member
  • Marie Wright, Board Member